Message Boards

Topic : How Childhood Abuse Still Affects Me

Number of Replies: 1367
New Messages This Week: 0
Last Reply On:
Created on : Thursday, July 07, 2005, 09:00:06 am
Author : dataimport
Are you an abuse survivor? How do you cope? Share your story.

As of January, 2009, this message board will become "Read Only" and will be closed to further posting. Please join the NEW Dr. Phil Community to continue your discussions, personalize your message board experience, start a blog and meet new friends.

July 24, 2005, 6:07 am CDT

life after abuse can be enjoyed

Hello everyone.

I am new to the message board.but I felt compelled to speak up.I am 40 this year so that means I have been fighting the memorie demans for 38 years now.thankfully to good pepole Like DR Phil. I am a verry happy woman.all the help in the world will never be able to make you forget.but with Dr Phil's kind of help.you can forgive and then you can begin to forgive your self hardest thing we have to do as survivers is to forgive our own selfs.then we can begin to LOVE ourselfs again.As abuse victims we did not do anything wrong so long as we survied.but we tend to blame ourself's for what we had no controll over.but we have controll over the future so everyday we need to tell ourselfs how much we matter in the world.Look forward to all the blessings comeing our way.and be very thankfull for all the blessings in our life now today.

Wishing everyone well.

Lepshen

July 24, 2005, 3:44 pm CDT

Getting used to the "Boards..."

I am not sure I like this new board, of course change isn't always easy. I don't know if anyone that used to be on here will come back, but I am starting therapy again, finally.

It has been almost 3 months and going through all the flashbacks, memories and feelings of all the abuse has really been hard for me.