Message Boards

Messages By: thejewelfmga

User Mood
Worried

Message Emote
blank
September 12, 2008, 3:28 pm CDT

Too much pain!

In 1972, when I was 14, a carload of friends picked me up at my new home.  As I was the poorest of "poor white trash,"  I made the comment that I didn't know why my Mom chose to move into that N---shack.  As one of my black friends was sitting in the back seat, I was immediately mortified.  As I turned and apologized to him, the look of hurt on his face was branded into my heart forever.  I had terribly hurt a friend over a lousy word.  I never used it again.  As a teacher, I did not allow it in my classroom regardless of race.  As it invariably came out during each school year, I told my story hoping to share the pain and shame that word carries.

As for the "getting over it" comment that upset your guest so badly, I DO agree.  The division in our country is economical not racial.  Shoot, most blacks looked down on ME because I was white and so what was my problem that we were so poor. Also, I once shared my shame with a black female friend of mine about being fearful of telling 2 black, male teenagers to knock it off as they bounced a basketball in the road at 9:00pm.  She reassured me she TOO would have been more hesitant approaching blacks as oppossed to white, male teenagers.  Consequently, it is my absolute belief that the issue is economics and the behaviors that usually (though not always) follow with this socio-economic status that causes division in America.  Of course, some of the negative, defensive, blaming attitudes demonstrated on your show adds to this chasm.  I too get upset when I am blamed for what others did.  My ancestors were in the sharecropping fields alongside blacks, mexicans, whatever.  America, let us move forward and heal.

User Mood
Worried

Message Emote
blank
September 13, 2008, 5:07 pm CDT

I miss my daughter everyday.

Quote From: vsplacy