Message Boards

Messages By:

October 13, 2005, 9:55 am CDT

My thoughts . . .

Clearly, this is a story that has people taking sides. There doesn't seem to be any "in between". People are either blaming Brandi or defending her.  

I am very thankful that my family has not been subjected to such a horrible tragedy and I am no expert in this area, but it seems as though Daniel's family is focused on blaming Brandi. It seems like they are obsessed with placing blame on her.  

But I think about things that have happened in this country and I think this is another example of what this nation has become. When something does not go the way we want it to, or think it should, we place blame. Someone must always be at fault when we don’t like what has happened.  

Perhaps, it is easier for humans to place blame than it is to accept that sometimes, bad things just happen. Does finding someone to blame make us less vulnerable to the reality that we cannot control everything and that, unfortunately, bad things will happen? 

We can find holes in Brandi’s story, because we are adults, and we are not thinking like a crying, emotional, seventeen-year-old teenager. Keep in mind, that this incident took place in a matter of seconds. We will never know exactly what happened, but I think it’s wrong to come to the conclusion that she is guilty based on what was aired on today’s show.  

I do think it’s important to try to remember that Daniel and Brandi were teenagers when this happened. Teenagers do not think clearly, they aren’t supposed to. They are still learning and maturing. Looking back on my life, I can recall situations that I handled badly, made wrong choices and acted in an immature way and I thank God that it never resulted in the death of another human being. However, had any of the variables been different the outcome would have been different.  

October 13, 2005, 10:04 am CDT

Legal advice

Quote From: aviano5